Chesapeake Men's Senior Baseball League
username:      password:       remember me   
Hall of Fame Members
Go back to member list.

Member: Gary Gubbings
Team: Chesapeake Braves
Year Inducted: 2009

Member Bio:

Gary's string of baseball recognition and awards began as a High School baseball player for the Brooklawn, New Jersey, American Legion Post #72 Team in which his team won two American Legion New Jersey State Championships, a Mid-Atlantic Championship, and a American Legion World Series Runner up title.

In his senior year of high school in 1985, Gary's High School baseball team won the Colonial Conference Championship, Group 1 Regional Championship, and made it to the State Semi-Finals. He was recognized as an All Conference and All New Jersey Group 1 baseball player.

Gary continued playing baseball in college at Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania in which he was a starter for 3 years. His Slippery Rock baseball team won two Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Western Division Championships in 1987 and 1988. In 1988, Gary was selected as the 1988 PSAC Student Athlete of the Year and was nominated for Academic All-American honors. In 1989, his team won the North Atlantic Regional Championship and finished third in the Division II College World Series.

In 1996, Gary embarked upon a high school baseball coaching career as a collateral assignment as a high school teacher. From 1996 through 2003, Gary was the Varsity baseball coach at Southern High School in Anne Arundel County. Accomplishments while coaching as Southern HS included a 1997 Regional Championship and State Semi-Finalist and selection as the Friends of Joe Cannon Coach of the Year; a Regional Championship and State Semi-Final finish in 2002; and, another Regional Championship and State Finals appearance in 2003.

In 2004, Gary took the reigns as the Varsity baseball coach at Broadneck High School and led his team to two Easter Tournament Championships in 2004 and 2005. is 2005 Broadneck team reached the Regional Semi-Finals. For his success in 2005, Gary was recognized by the Washington Post as the Anne Arundel County Baseball Coach of the Year.

In 2007, Gary became the head baseball coach at Anne Arundel Community College and led the team to the Region XX NJCAA finals. Since 2008, he has served as the assistant Varstiy baseball coach at South River High School. In 2008, the South River HS Varsity baseball team set a school record for wins and won the Regional Championship and finished the season as a State Semi-finalist.

Gary's Chesapeake MSBL career began in 1998 playing for the Chesapeake Rangers. In 1999, he joined the Chesapeake Braves and won the Chesapeake MSBL title and made the MSBL Fall Classic National Division Championship and finished as runner up. Gary has been a major contributor to the many championships won by the Chesapeake Braves including:

- Eleven League Championships (1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011); and
- Six Regional Tournament Championships (1999 Lehigh Valley MSBL Memorial Day Tournament, 1999 Richmond MSBL Labor Day Regional Tournament, and the 2000, 2001, 2002 (with Chesapeake Marlins), and 2006 Chesapeake MSBL Columbus Day Regional Tournament

Since 1999, Gary has participated in 3 MSBL Fall Classic National Tournaments and numerous MSBL Regional Tournaments held in Richmond and Charlottesville, VA; Lehigh and Harrisburg, PA; and the Chesapeake MSBL Columbus Day Tournament. He has also been elected to the Chesapeake MSBL All Star team in 1999, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009.

Gary is the seventh member inducted into the Chesapeake MSBL Hall of Fame. His induction took place on February 7, 2009.

Click on name to display member biography.

Inducted in 2007: Gary Gladden, Alex Brunet
Inducted in 2008: John Goode, Frank "Jocko" Svoboda
Inducted in 2009: Tad Trias, Bob Engelmeyer, Gary Gubbings
Inducted in 2010: Lee Nelson, Brian Sands, Duane Cordrey
Inducted in 2011: Bryan Beauchemin, Jeff Wolf
Inducted in 2012: Dan Fielder, Steve Hoffmann
Inducted in 2013: Frank Carter
Inducted in 2014: Gerry Shay, Tom Finch
Inducted in 2015: Mike Gordon, Ed Nottingham
Inducted in 2016: None Elected
Inducted in 2017: Ian Hendricks, Larry Hackley
Inducted in 2018: None Elected