Chesapeake Men's Senior Baseball League
username:      password:       remember me   
Hall of Fame Members
Go back to member list.

Member: Lee Nelson
Team: Chesapeake Mariners
Year Inducted: 2010

Member Bio:

Lee played high school baseball for Varina High School in Richmond, VA where he was named All District Pitcher in 1981 and 1982. In 1982, he was also recognized as an All Metro pitcher.

He attended Anne Arundel Community College (AACC) as a pitcher. In 1985, he was recognized as an All Region XX pitcher and set an AACC record for ERA and was 10th in the Nation in Junior College ERA.

In 1995, Lee took over managing the Chesapeake Mariners where the team finished in last place in 1994. Lee transformed the team into a contender by finishing the 1995 season as the runner up team. Lee has managed the Chesapeake Mariners since 1995 and has accumulated over 300 wins including 3 regular season championships and 3 post season championships.

Lee has taken his team to numerous MSBL Regional Tournaments including the Charlottesville Labor Day Regional Tournament and the Chesapeake MSBL Columbus Day Tournament. His team has finished as runner up in in the 2009 Charlottesville MSBL Labor Day Tournament and as runner up in the 2008 and 2010 Chesapeake MSBL Columbus Day Tournament.

In 2005, Lee took his team into the 35+ Division and was instrumental in growing the 35+ Division of the Chesapeake MSBL by smoothly integrating the Baltimore Area Senior Baseball Association 35+ League into the Chesapeake MSBL. He has been a member of the Chesapeake MSBL Board of Directors since 2008 and has represented the interests of the 35+ Division to the Anne Arundel County Recreation & Parks Department.

Lee is the eighth member inducted into the Chesapeake MSBL Hall of Fame. His induction took place on February 20, 2010. His number, 13, has been retired from All Star Game play.

Click on name to display member biography.

Inducted in 2007: Gary Gladden, Alex Brunet
Inducted in 2008: John Goode, Frank "Jocko" Svoboda
Inducted in 2009: Tad Trias, Bob Engelmeyer, Gary Gubbings
Inducted in 2010: Lee Nelson, Brian Sands, Duane Cordrey
Inducted in 2011: Bryan Beauchemin, Jeff Wolf
Inducted in 2012: Dan Fielder, Steve Hoffmann
Inducted in 2013: Frank Carter
Inducted in 2014: Gerry Shay, Tom Finch
Inducted in 2015: Mike Gordon, Ed Nottingham
Inducted in 2016: None Elected
Inducted in 2017: Ian Hendricks, Larry Hackley
Inducted in 2018: None Elected