Chesapeake Men's Senior Baseball League
username:      password:       remember me   
Hall of Fame Members
Go back to member list.

Member: Brian Sands
Team: Chesapeake Pirates
Year Inducted: 2010

Member Bio:

Brian is a local product of Anne Arundel County and played varsity baseball for the Arundel High School Wildcats from 1991 through 1993. In 1991, the Arundel Wildcats won the 4A Maryland State Championship. In 1993, Brian was a member of the 1993 National and Maryland State High School Baseball Championship team.

After graduating from Arundel HS, Brian continued playing baseball for Anne Arundel Community College in 1994 and 1995 where he was recognized as the 1995 team MVP and received All Region Honors. During the summer months, he played for Walter Youse with the notable Corrigan's Semi-Pro baseball team. As a member of Corrigan's, Brain pitched against the Australian National Team at Camden Yards at Orioles Park.

Brian continued pitching at the collegiate level for Shepherd College in 1996 and 1997. While at Shepherd College, his team had the best winning percentage in all Divisions of NCAA baseball. He still holds pitching records for Shepherd College. He was a member of the 1997 Shepherd College baseball team that went undefeated in the WVIAC and hosted the NCAA Division II Regional Tournament.

After graduating from Shepherd College, Brian became a member of the Shepherd College coaching staff and went on to pitch in the Independent League for the Elmira Pioneers in 1998 .

After deciding a professional baseball career was not in the cards, Brian wanted to remain close to the game of baseall and took a position as the Director of Stadium Operations for the Bowe Baysox, the Baltimore Orioles AA affiliate, in 1998. In 1999, he became the Director of Operations for the Arkansas Travelers; the St Louis Cardinals AA affiliate. From 1998 through 2002, Brain was the on-field pitching instructor and camp coordinator for The Baseball Factory. He also served as an Assistant Coach for the St Mary's High School (Annapolis, MD) Varsity Baseball team. Since that time, Brian has shared his baseball experience and pitching expertise with youth by providing pitching and hitting instruction in support of regional baseball camps for kids aged 7 to 18 years old.

In 2002, Brian became a member of the Chesapeake MSBL as a player for the Chesapeake Pirates. As a pitcher, infielder and designated hitter for the Pirates, Brian has been a 5 time All Star representing the 25+ Division. He hit home runs in three consecutive All Star Games (2006 against the Southern MD All Stars and against the DC Metro MSBL All Stars in 2007 and 2008).

From 2006-2008, Brian became the Chesapeake Pirates' Assistant Coach and in 2009 he became the Manager of the Chesapeake Pirates. In addition to managing and playing for the Chesapeake Pirates, Brian is an At-Large Board Member of the Chesapeake MSBL.

Brian's day time job of providing recognition and award solutions for businesses has greatly benefitted the Chesapeake MSBL. His professional career working for Recognition Concepts has allowed him to continue to support the Chesapeake MSBL by having his company design, manufacture, and deliver top quality awards which include the Chesapeake MSBL Regional Tournament Awards, Annual League Awards for Service, Sportsmanship, Sponsorship, and Umpire of the Year Awards in addition to being the sole provider for the Chesapeake MSBL Hall of Fame Plaques and Hall of Fame rings presented to members elected for induction into the Chesapeake MSBL Hall of Fame. He also provides Hall of Fame Awards for the DC Metro MABL/MSBL. To date, he and his company have contributed more than $10,000 in awards which the Chesapeake MSBL presents each year to deserving Chesapeake MSBL teams, players, managers, umpires, and sponsors.

Brian is the ninth member inducted into the Chesapeake MSBL Hall of Fame. His induction took place on February 20, 2010. His number, 18, has been retired from All Star Game play.

Click on name to display member biography.

Inducted in 2007: Gary Gladden, Alex Brunet
Inducted in 2008: John Goode, Frank "Jocko" Svoboda
Inducted in 2009: Tad Trias, Bob Engelmeyer, Gary Gubbings
Inducted in 2010: Lee Nelson, Brian Sands, Duane Cordrey
Inducted in 2011: Bryan Beauchemin, Jeff Wolf
Inducted in 2012: Dan Fielder, Steve Hoffmann
Inducted in 2013: Frank Carter
Inducted in 2014: Gerry Shay, Tom Finch
Inducted in 2015: Mike Gordon, Ed Nottingham
Inducted in 2016: None Elected
Inducted in 2017: Ian Hendricks, Larry Hackley
Inducted in 2018: None Elected